Rewiring For Dual Pickups - Magnetic Plus Piezo

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Rewiring For Dual Pickups - Magnetic Plus Piezo

I am posting this question to a number of forums since I'm not sure which are the best.

As far as my experience with electronics, I am primarily a musician composer type, but I have soldered quite a few guitar cables in my day.

I am looking at adding a piezo pickup to my electric guitar to extend the frequency range and to add a bit of "bite" to the overall sound. Cost is also a factor.

I've done a test setup with two separate cables... (the piezo and the stock magnetic pickup being channeled into two tracks in the audio interface of my computer)... I liked the sound after adjusting the gain and correctly mixing the two inside my computer... but it's inconvenient to have to plug in two cables and have unbalanced volume levels right out of the guitar (since I want to be able to use standard guitar FX pedals, etc).

I'm just wondering how difficult it would be to mess around in the electronics of my guitar...
    - to combine the two signals
    - to add a gain control to the piezo, and
    - probably to add an amplifier for the piezo as well (unless I can otherwise raise it to the same level as the magnetic pickup, maybe by installing the largest diameter piezo?).

Anyone know how to go about this? Even pointing to relevant resources is greatly appreciated.

- Lid555

Originally posted by Lid55 View Post
    I am posting this question to a number of forums since I'm not sure which are the best.

As far as my experience with electronics, I am primarily a musician composer type, but I have soldered quite a few guitar cables in my day.

I am looking at adding a piezo pickup to my electric guitar to extend the frequency range and to add a bit of "bite" to the overall sound. Cost is also a factor.