Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

How about using the phantom power from a mixer to power a 12au7 preamp for acc guit?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How about using the phantom power from a mixer to power a 12au7 preamp for acc guit?

Hi everybody, im new here and also green in the electronics field, however i think im onto something. would it be possible to build a preamp for an acoustic guitar using the 48v phantom power supply from the desk to power a 12au7 tube? im looking to breathe life into the bluuuaaeggg sound the average pickup preamp provides.

The project needs to be simple as i have limited electronic knowledge, and also cost effective for obvious reasons.
    I would also like to later explore the possibility to miniaturise the preamp to build it into acoustic guitars.

The immediate concern that comes to mind is the current requirements of the tube's heater and the current limits of the phantom power specification. Per spec, phantom power can only supply a maximum of 10mA per microphone. A 12AU7 requires 150mA of power when powered by 12.6V heaters or 300mA at 6.3V -- 15 or 30 times the current limit of a phantom power supply. Looking through datasheets, this appears to hold true for all the members of the 12A*7 family of twin triodes. Even similar subminiature twin triodes such at the 6112, 6111, and 6021 require 300mA to power their heaters. There's a reason transistors have taken over many fields where tubes once held sway, including audio preamps -- they require far less power to operate.

Truth be told, I'm not certain how to overcome the current requirement hurdle for what you want to do. But there's people on this board much smarter than me, so maybe they know something I don't.

Comment