Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• BF Princeton High B+ & PI

Hello again everyone,

A friend gave me his 66 Princeton to fix after sitting in the closet for 20 years. He said the fuse blew years ago and he just put it in the closet. Put a fuse in it and it worked, but one 6v6 was blown, and volume is low after replacement tubes. Doesn't hum! Voltage check gives 470V B+ with a 5AR4 recto with tubes in, and all downstream okay in proportion. Could I swap out the recto tube (5y3, 5v4, 5r4, any w. 2A current draw) to lower that a bit? Also, there are about 30VDC on the grid of the PI. I'm still learning about that circuit; is this normal for this PI, or do I need to do the full cap test (disconnect one end and check) on the .022 between preamp and PI?

Cleaned pots, and will do a full cap job and three-prong conversion, new power tubes and bias. The sound is in there, just not really coming out. Any other suggestions for safety? Thanks, Justin
    "Wow it's red! That doesn't look like the standard Marshall red. It's more like hooker lipstick/clown nose/poodle pecker red." - Chuck H. -
    "Of course that means playing **LOUD** , best but useless solution to modern sissy snowflake players." - J.M. Fahey -
    "All I ever managed to do with that amp was... kill small rodents within a 50 yard radius of my practice building." - Tone Meister -

470V sounds right for an amp that expects 117V at the wall. If anything, though, that voltage at the PI grid seems low -- if you look at the schematic, the bottom of the grid-leak resistor measures +49V. To determine leakage, try pulling the PI tube and then measuring both sides of the coupling cap.

http://www.ampwares.com/schematics/p...z34_aa1164.pdf

Wouldn't hurt to test the preamp tubes and replace any that are worn out.

- Scott

Comment