5E3 Standby?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 5E3 Standby?

Hello - I've just joined the forum and I'm new to amp building (although I've been playing through old valve amps for years)

I'm building a 5E3 based amp with a standby replacing the ground switch.

I've looked at other Fender tweeds in the Gerald Weber book and they have a 05 600v cap from the standby switch to ground.

Can anyone tell me what this cap does. Is it ok to use this for a standby mod for a 5E3?

that may be to reduce arcing when the switch is thrown, to increase switch life.

Comment

Thanks for that

Comment

Are you sure those schematics aren't showing a ground switch rather then a standby? The original Fender 5E3 layout diagram (see attachment) shows that cap "death cap" on the ground switch going to chassis. This was used to reduce hum when the old 2 prong cord was plugged in the wrong way. Since you will be using a 3 prong cord with ground, you will not need this. You can do like you said, and make it standby switch instead. TBH, standby is really not even needed on this amp as the 5Y3 rectifier takes longer to warm then the 6V6's and 9 pins, but I used it on my 5E3 build just to fill the hole on my chassis. I attached the Weber layout, which uses a standby for reference.
        Attached Files
        Last edited by Wittgenstein; 04-26-2011, 10:47 PM.
        My Builds:
        5E3 Deluxe Build
        5F1 Champ Build
        6G15 Reverb Unit Build

Comment

Thanks for that - the standby on the tweed bassman for example uses that cap. Thanks for the Weber schematic - it's useful for comparison. I've bought the Mission tone mod as well and I've built a cab with 2 8" & 2 6" speakers.

I'm working towards building a scaled down 4x8 Bassman which is is a bit more compact and portable.

I'll try and put some pictures up of my 5E3 when it's finished

Comment

I have an idea that'll save you the cost of a standby switch.

- Scott

Comment

Wha's that?