Adding the Angus Young pickup on the neck of my Iommi Epiphone

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Adding the Angus Young pickup on the neck of my Iommi Epiphone

I have the Tony Iommi signature Epiphone and I absolutely love it. However I pretty much always play on the bridge pick up, the neck one is too muddy. I was thinking it would be killer to add Angus Youngs signature pick up to the neck. My question is; Does it make a difference what pick up is positioned where as far as sound goes?

Also apparently Angus' guitar had two of the same pick up. How will a guitar with just one of them sound? As they are not sold in a pair. Sorry if these are dumb questions, complete newb as to customizing a guitar. And yes there is a tech I know who can change them for me.

Here's another thread that discussed the Angus Young Pickups.
    http://music-electronics-forum.com/t20789/
    Angus uses a regular Classic 57 in the Neck.
    Good Luck,
    Terry
    "If Hitler invaded Hell, I would make at least a favourable reference of the Devil in the House of Commons." Winston Churchill
    Terry

Comment

Thanks, but that all sounds really technical and reads as gibberish to me lol. All I want to know is will installing this pick up in the bridge or neck position make any difference in sound. Gibson Angus Young Signature Humbucker and more Guitar Pickups & Parts at GuitarCenter.com.

Comment

Originally posted by plissken99 View Post
        Thanks, but that all sounds really technical and reads as gibberish to me lol. All I want to know is will installing this pick up in the bridge or neck position make any difference in sound. Gibson Angus Young Signature Humbucker and more Guitar Pickups & Parts at GuitarCenter.com.
        If you already have the Angus Pickup, It won't hurt to try it in the neck.
        If you don't already have the Pickup, I would not recommend it.
        Because it is too hot, and too much DCR for a neck posistion.