Fender Deluxe Reverb II - repair?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Fender Deluxe Reverb II - repair?

I purchased a DRII about a year ago. It is my first tube amp. When I bought it the guy told me the jewel light was burned out, but it was no big deal to replace it.

One day recently I was playing and the amp made a loud static noise and the sound went out. As quickly as it went out, it came back on and, lo and behold, the jewel light lit up brightly and has worked ever since. As a matter of fact, it seems overly bright.

I took the chassis out and gave it a look-over, but didn't notice anything obvious. I did however wonder about small black spots on the orange drop caps, almost like burn marks, and a bit of crusty material on one. Like I said, I'm new to amps, having used acoustics up until recently. (That's why I call myself chickenPlucker - I'm not good enough to call myself a chickenPicker yet).

Also, the eyelet board is warped. Is this typical and will it affect the amp's functioning?

Here are some pics. What do y'all think.
    Attached Files

Dear C Plucker,

My input:
    Basically, I don't see anything to worry about.
    1) Photo of “Gunk & deformity” on your orange drop cap. The “deformity” is just part of the structure of the cap that is under the orange stuff that Sprague coated the cap with. The “Gunk” looks like someone touched the body of the cap with a soldering iron. I don’t believe there is any damage there. The crusty material could be solder flux that spattered and dried. Very common.
    2) “Board delaminated and warped”. You are seeing the two boards used in the construction. The top one holds the parts and the bottom one is an insulator to stop the part leads from touching the metal chassis. The warping is very common and seen in virtually 100% of the Fender amps constructed this way.

Regards,
    Tom
    Last edited by Tom Phillips; 04-03-2007, 11:49 PM.

Comment