Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hopeful to find help with a vintage Japanese tube amp

Hello folks,
    I recently picked up a 60's Recco tube amp. I didn't expect much but I actually like it. It does seem to have an issue. There is an onboard temelo effect and that doesn't seem to work. It may have been bypassed by someone prior. I'm a newbie to amp repair so any help and advice is appreciated. When you turn the trem control knobs there is a change in sound but it is more of a tone change not a trem effect change. Here are some pics which are a tab blurry but hopefully recognizable enough. The two parts circled in red may have been replacements or additions, and the part in blue may be bad just by looking at the colors.
    Attached Files

Do you have a switch for your tremelo?

Comment

I do not have the true switch but I used a regular plug in jack and shorted the wires just like a switch would do.

Comment

Can you tell people other information like what tubes it uses, is there a model number on it, do you have a schematic?

Comment

The model is 505, I don't have a schematic and haven't been able to find one online. The tubes are 2-12ax7 and the other 2 I can only see the markings 5f

Comment

The output tube sockets look like 7 pin, so I'd say 6AQ5 outputs.
            The farmer takes a wife, the barber takes a pole....

Comment

That is the same info that I just found in a review somewhere about the output tubes.

Comment

I was wondering if it might not be 6CA5. Different pin-out but still seven-pins and about half the power than 6AQ5.

I think you are probably on your own for drawing up a schemo.

As far as the tremelo goes, if you know which 12ax7 is doing the "tremming" you could swap with a known good one and see if that makes a difference. Another thought on the tremelo is that some designs will have a smallish 8-10uF or so electrolytic cap in there that could simply be old at this point.

Comment