Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 5f1 tweed champ questions.

Hello,

Hope someone can put me straight on a few things regarding the 5F1 champ circuit. I aim to build one very soon for my first amp build.
    I have recently acquired Dave Hunters Guitar Amp handbook and have some older books on tubes from the fiftys. I am making an attempt to work things out for myself using these books and researching the net, it's just my wife is getting fed up with me spending so much time doing it.
    At this stage I would just like to get my head around what exactly is going on in the 5F1 schematic, then progress to more sophisticated gear later on.
    At first I knew nothing on amp circuits or electronics, I am a lot more familar now, its been fun learning but there is still some grey areas I would like to cover.

Here's a few questions I am just going to put out there. I have never used a forum of any kind before today, so I will be interested to see the response I get.

i) Could someone please explain what the purpose is of the 220k resistor connected to ground just before the 6v6 grid?

ii) How exactly does the 5y3 tube work to rectify AC to DC?

iii) Do I need the .05uF Cap if im using a 3 pin plug? I ve heard its not needed, but I would like to know why, if some one could explain?

iv) How does the second input lose 6 db? Is it via the 1 meg resistor to ground? How does that work?

v) How does the negative feedback loop work exactly, why is it connected to the cathode of the 12ax7 driver?

vi) Does any one know the original transformer specification's?

Thank's in advance to any one who help's me out, I know the answers are probably a bit detailed so I am very grateful to anyone who take the time to respond.
    I would love to find a copy of Dave Funks Fender workbook. I wonder if it would help me much in understanding the theory behind the Fender Champ circuit in more depth. I would love to de-mystify this circuit fully.