Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Power Transformers With Internal Thermal Protection Fuse

Friends...
    As a novice tech, I had no idea that Power Transformers have an internal protection fuse. I thought this only existed in hair dryers!!

I recently encounted a blown fuse inside the transformer on a Fender amp. It seems cumbersome to go in and replace the fuse, then reassemble the transformer and hope it will not short out internally.

So my questions are:

(1) How common is this?
    (2) What is the point of having an internal thermal fuse when the amp already has an external fuse?
    (3) When buying a replacement transformer, how do you know if that one also has an internal fuse?

Again, it seems redundant to have the thermal fuse- especially INSIDE the transformer!

Thanks for your comments... Tom
    Attached Files

Sometimes you can replace the internal fuse. But generally you would just replace the whole transformer since it's often more trouble than it's worth or the fuse is not easy to get to. This from what I've read here. I haven't had the pleasure.

The internal fuse should be rated higher than the external fuse. It's there as a fire prevention measure and probably a legal issue for the transformer MFG. Unfortunately there seem to be some transformers in current amps that are prone to popping their internal fuse. This is an expensive glitch for the amp owner.
    "Take two placebos, works twice as well." Enzo

"Now get off my lawn with your silicooties and boom-chucka speakers and computers masquerading as amplifiers" Justin Thomas

"If you're not interested in opinions and the experience of others, why even start a thread?
    You can't just expect consent." Helmholtz

Comment

Ok Chuck....

That makes sense. I appreciate the reply.

Something I learned long ago- LOOK at the fuse to verify it's value. It could be that the guy who serviced the amp before you decided to over-fuse!