Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• learning about my modified Traynor Mark 3

Hi all,

I've had a modified Traynor Mark 3 for 15+ years and am now trying to understand what the circuit. A bit about the overall mods: 2 channels, one clean and one overdrive (three gain stages, supposed to have a Dumble-esque quality), reverb on both channels, no more tremolo; I'll let you guess who modded it if you'd like.

[note: i've built an amp from a kit, but this is my first attempt at understanding an amp without a schematic; i have very little experience, so i'll spell out what i know below so you can gauge where I am at]

I measured the resistor values and checked out the cap values in the preamp section, and I'm wondering what is going on in the OD channel. For V2a/V2b, the plate resistors are 220k and the cathode resistors are 1.5k. V2a has switchable cathode bypass caps (either 22uF, .47uF, or none). I don't know what is going on with the V2b bypass cap. I've included some photos to help visualize what I'm looking at. First is a closeup of V2 just to show that I'm dealing with pin 3, which I imagine must be the cathode (pin 2 goes to volume, and pin 1 has a 220k plate resistor). that photo shows a blue wire heading out of the picture on the far left. the photo labeled 'V2b pin 3.jpg' shows where this blue wire ends up. I've circled a blue cap attached to the wire, which I believe to be a metalized polyester cap. The third photo shows this to be .68 uF.

Currently, my main questions are:
    - is this supposed to be the cathode bypass cap?
    - should this particular cap be used as a bypass cap?
    - should the bypass cap be polarized?
    - is this cap polarized?

That's all for now. Any pointers would be greatly appreciated!

-- John
    Attached Files

Traynor Mark III Schematic

I do not know what you are asking.
    The bypass V2 cathode bypass mod is to reduce the bass frequencies.
    The 22uf cap will pass all frequencies.