Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

New 5E3 build - great sound; at unamplified guitar level...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New 5E3 build - great sound; at unamplified guitar level...

Hello all,

Let me first introduce myself. I'm a first time amp builder with little experience in electronics other than soldering jack cables. I have no technical background whatsoever (yes, I have read some articles and some book fragments about valve amps but I do not consider this to be solid technical knowledge). I am from Belgium, so please excuse me if I'm using strange or incorrect language.

Last month I completed a 5E3 kit I bought off of a Dutch website (tonefactory.com). It came with an EHX 12AY7, an EHX 12AX7, two JJ 6V6's and a Sovtek 5Y3 (which is, if I am correct, really a 5AR4?). I constructed this thing with some kind of photo manual, which had poor instructions in very poor English. I built it into an old Peavey cab in which I installed a Jensen C12N, fired it up, and the sound coming out of it was just the kind of sound you would expect from a Tweed Deluxe; only, with the amp on 3, at about the volume of an unamplified electric guitar.

I have since done the following (everything one step at a time, never fixing the problem but also, never making it any worse or different):

- checked all wiring visually and with a multimeter, 6 times, going point to point
    - checked the wiring under the board with a multimeter
    - checked the tube socket contacts with a multimeter
    - checked the resistance values of every resistor
    - removed the two "number 2" input jacks (correctly that is, not just cutting the wires)
    - removed the extra speaker jack
    - plugged in a different speaker
    - hardwired the speaker
    - removed all cathode bypass caps (assuming one could have been faulty, and being told this wouldn't hurt the circuit)
    - replaced the rectifier tube (with a JJ GZ43)