Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 1.94" steel spacers (screw keepers)

Hi everyone-

I've just been making my first handful of PAF and early P90 sets, trying to get beyond some of the problems of the standard "off the shelf" parts available these days. I've been using mostly stuff from Mojotone, but I find that things like the 1.94" PAF/P90 steel spacer to be problematic. The spacer seems too lightweight and a bit too thin dimensionally (vertical height). This creates mechanical oscillations that I have to dampen out with tape shims or wax potting.

I have read through a good many posts here, going back to around 2006 or so, when the now senior members were struggling with these same issues. I'm just wondering if anybody is presently making better quality metal spacers and base plates for the 1.94" spacing and if I can purchase a handful for my own uses. I'm a hobbyist, I don't make many of these, just a few for myself and friends, but I would really like to get it right! (I'm old enough to have owned a few guit's with these pickups, and remember their unique sound and feel... old enough to wish I never sold any of them!).

Thanks in advance,

Allen

Uh oh... did I say something wrong??? 48 views, no replies...

Comment

I can't suggest any other vendors but I will suggest not using the keepers. Not everyone uses them and they are not completely necessary. Not using one on a humbucker of course means using a slightly wider magnet. Of course a P90 doesn't have any such issue.

Mojo offers a few different keepers. I have found the eight hole to be different material than the ten hole. You may want to try switching which one you use.
      Roadhouse Pickups

Comment

been there done that - hint: stewmac

Comment

Originally posted by Lpone View Post
          been there done that - hint: stewmac
          The Stewmac Kits had a Keeper and Spacer the same thickness as the magnet they provided.