Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Deluxe Reverb Build - Bias way too hot, and other problems

Hey all,
    I recently picked up a 70's silverface Deluxe Reverb that had all sorts of problems, so I decided to start from scratch and rebuild it with the classic blackface AB763 circuit, replacing all resistors, capacitors, etc. I'm pretty familiar with electronics, but this is my first attempt at building an amplifier.

After spending quite a few days wiring things up, checking and rechecking.. I recently powered it up. I was very happy to find out that the amp did work, including the reverb. The tremolo however didn't work, but more on that later. Immediately after powering up the amp, I noticed that the tubes got VERY hot and very fast, with the metal plates inside starting to glow bright red in 30 seconds.

Today I tried biasing the amp and ran into some problems. To bias the amp, I built my own version of the Weber bias rite head (http://taweber.powweb.com/store/br-kit-diagram.pdf) so I can easily measure the bias current (through a 1ohm resistor) and the plate voltage (between a 1M and 100ohm resistors) with my multimeter.

Plate voltage measured 305V (30.5mV between the resistors), but the bias current steadily climbed to over 130mA (130mV across the resistor)!

So I figured something wasn't right, so I went and measured a few voltages inside the amp. From the wiper of the bias pot, I was measuring +12mV but I'm supposed to be measuring -35V here apparently). The red/white wire from the transformer that goes to the bias network I measured at +29mV. B+ voltages are 319V and 326V.

If it helps, my bias network consists of a 470-1W flameproof resistor, the original silverface diode and a 47uF 160V capacitor.

Anyways, I have no clue what is wrong. Really hoping for some help here. I must have messed something up..