Problems Installing an Isolation Transformer in a Silvertone 1430

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Problems Installing an Isolation Transformer in a Silvertone 1430

I am working on a Silvertone 1430 trying to make it safe with an N-68X isolation transformer. Before I started work it powered up fine with a loud hum but it did pass signal and it did sound "OK", for one of these. They are an acquired taste.

I have attached the schematic created by Clark Huckaby which matches the circuit on this amp better than the other 1430 schematic on the web.

I have never tried this before, but this was my strategy. Wire the primary side of the N-68X to the fuse tip and then through the switch and back to the transformer, with the ground wire going to the chassis. Wire the secondaries to the two points in the circuit where the original AC went. Then remove the death cap.

I wired in the transformer and replaced the filter caps. The original caps had their negative ends tied to one side of the on/off switch. The 40uf and the 20uf [in this one they had already been replaced with a modern CE red cylindrical twin cap with 47uf and 33uf] were tied to the switch through an NC pin on the rectifier socket by a wire back to the switch and the other cap, a 10uf, was connected directly to the same terminal on the switch. That same terminal also had a green wire from the junction of the 560K and 150R resistors.

I connected the negative ends of the replacement caps to a new terminal strip, along with the green wire, and connected them to one side of the secondary from the isolation transformer.

The other side of the secondary goes to another new tag strip where the wire from the plate of the rectifier and the 100 ohm, now 150 ohm, resistor are now connected.

I changed the 5w 100 ohm resistor on the filament supply to 150 ohms based on a suggestion in the Ampage archive.