hum, i didn't do my home work...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• hum, i didn't do my home work...

i put together my first amp this past weekend, and i did not know that putting the OT right behind the input jack was a no no. i am a total beginner with amps so forgive me for not knowing the terms, i have a low hum that sounds like just about every other i've ever owned, and i have a higher pitched hum that i can lessen/get rid of with either the tone control or by moving the OT away from the input jack. unfortunately the second solution isn't really an option as i don't have the room in the chassis to move the OT. i used shielded cable for all the leads to and from the volume and tone controls for what it's worth.

do i have any options or do i just have to chalk it up to inexperience and just remember to plan better next time?

Thanks, Rylan

If it's not a cutout type mount on the OT some copper shield and carefull lead dress may work wonders. There are some high gainers that actually do have the OT on the input side of the amp. Though other things must be routed carefully to pull this off well. Can you post a pic of the layout, complete and clear???
    "Take two placebos, works twice as well." Enzo

"Now get off my lawn with your silicooties and boom-chucka speakers and computers masquerading as amplifiers" Justin Thomas

"If you're not interested in opinions and the experience of others, why even start a thread?
    You can't just expect consent." Helmholtz

Comment

first of all thanks for your time...