high power supply voltage

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• high power supply voltage

Hi, I am a newbie so be kind to amateurs! I am working on my 2nd build. I am using a power and output transformer pair from an old PA that I think originally had two 6V6s for the output section. I have wired the entire amp and am ready to test it. It has a solid state rectifier and the CT is fused and is wired as the standby switch. I have been trying to check the voltages through the stages of the power supply - without the tubes in their sockets yet. I want to set the bias voltage and make sure the plate voltages are acceptable before putting in the tubes. The trouble is...the supply voltage rises to over 700V before I just shut it off. It does not blow any fuses, which stands to reason, it really has no load. Should I put in the tubes and see if the load brings the voltage down? I have a new set of 6L6s that I thought I could use if the voltage is really closer to 450 or 500v under load.
    I appreciate any/all help!

Just set the bias voltage as negative as possible if you are worried.

Here is a decent rule of thumb for starting a new amp up:
    Most all good power tubes can be run for quite a few minutes with the bias voltage at about 12% to 15% of the plate voltage, if the plate voltage is not ridiculous.
    If you are expecting about 500vdc under a load, then setting the bias voltage to -60vdc to -75vdc will surely keep the power tubes from running underbiased.
    Bruce

Mission Amps
    Denver, CO. 80022
    www.missionamps.com
    303-955-2412

Comment

Thanks for the advice! I will get my safety glasses and see where it will bias out with the tubes in.

Comment

still high voltage