Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Some beginner questions

Hello all,
    I've decided to get myself a music system after years of just listening to music through computers, MP3 players etc. I thought I'd try something a bit more interesting than the usual stuff in Dixons, and get tube amplifier.

I've read a a bit about it, and would like some input:

Would a new Separo e34i be a good "starter" tube amp? I was thinking of getting this, some Roth Audio OLi20 speakers, a simple turntable to try out Vinyl, and perhaps some kind of tablet, so I can also play MP3s. Other than maybe a pre-amp for both the turntable and the tablet, is there anything obviously wrong with a set up like this?

I'm very new to all this, so don't be afraid to point out what to you is very obvious...

I think I'd like a new amp for the warranty/support, as I'm new to this. Do you think that it's a system that can "grow" with me, if I decide to get a CD player, or a better MP3 solution later down the line? Is the Separo a good amp to get a "taste" of tube amps, or can I do better for the money when it comes to brand new amps?

Thanks a lot

Garry
    Last edited by thegman; 10-29-2011, 12:57 PM. Reason: typos

Hey Garry,

Welcome to the MEF. I don't have any answers for you, but you may get a better response if you post over in the Music Electronics Section, if T-boy doesn't move it first. This is the best forum out there, but I have a feeling someone will tell to build your own, because that's mostly what they do around here. I suggest taking it on - it's addictive and healthier than some other "recreational drugs." Good luck!

Justin
    "Wow it's red! That doesn't look like the standard Marshall red. It's more like hooker lipstick/clown nose/poodle pecker red." - Chuck H. -
    "Of course that means playing **LOUD** , best but useless solution to modern sissy snowflake players." - J.M. Fahey -