Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: AmpClones.com Mesa Boogie Mark IIC+ Help total newb

Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 0/0
    Given: 0/0

AmpClones.com Mesa Boogie Mark IIC+ Help total newb

Hello.

My dream amp (right now) is a mesa boogie mark IIC+. I was tired of constantly getting out bid on e bay for one, then waiting months for another to appear. If I won and wanted to send it to Mike B at mesa for a mod/upgrade it is even harder because he said if it comes from the states they can only ship it out once they upgrade it to someone in the states, (I live in Canada). So that means I would have to get it shipped to me then ship it to Mike then him ship it back, such a mess. So I decided to give a shot at making one.

I ordered the chasis and the PCB from MARK 2C+ Chassis + Complete PCB set - $155.00 : AMPCLONES.COM, Tube guitar amplifier PCB boards, chassis, transformers and DIY kits
    It came with 3 boards, and 6 pages of schematics. FML this is not as easy as lego, nor as safe.

1) So I thought my first step should be to take a picture of each PCB, start writing down every component I need to buy and how many and open the picture up in paint and scratch off that component as I go.
    2) So I am trying to match the boards with the schematics, I believe I have found the board and schematics that are responsible for the Graphics EQ but have some questions:

I noticed it says 60Hz on the schematic but the equalizer on the boogie is 80Hz (Small issue for the most part, I think)
    RV8 to RV12, does RV mean Variable Resistor (Pot)?, if so why do they call it RV instead of VR?
    are all of those pots supposed to be 50k Ohms?
    How do you call a pot like this that is not round but supposed to be vertical, and where can I buy some?
    Is the pot supposed to fit between position 1 and 2 after the 470 and 1k resistors or in each pair of spots labelled 3?
    How do those 3 holes at the bottom left of the board match up with the schematic?