Fiber flatwork vs plastic bobbin.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Fiber flatwork vs plastic bobbin.

Anyone actually compare the difference is sound between fiber fretwork with magnetic poles actually touch the wires vs plastic bobbin like used in Fender MIA pups and Tex Mex? I am talking about all else are identical, same winding pattern, same type of wire and same gauge. I know people keep saying fiber is better, but they usually use cheaper wires for the plastic bobbin.

Being an engineer, I find it hard to swallow that there is a difference if the plastic bobbin is designed so the wires can touch the magnetic poles like the fiber fretwork. It can be easily done.

Being an engineer, the best thing you can do is probably stay away from the Pickup Makers forum! ;-)

As one engineer to another, I'd be mighty surprised if there is a difference. I'm sure pickup makers can hear a difference, and I probably would too. But there are so many uncontrolled variables, the difference is probably caused by something else than what we think. Different shape of coil, different scatter, whatever. Not the different electrical properties of forbon and nylon.
    "Enzo, I see that you replied parasitic oscillations. Is that a hypothesis? Or is that your amazing metal band I should check out?"

Comment

Originally posted by Steve Conner View Post
      Being an engineer, the best thing you can do is probably stay away from the Pickup Makers forum! ;-)

As one engineer to another, I'd be mighty surprised if there is a difference. I'm sure pickup makers can hear a difference, and I probably would too. But there are so many uncontrolled variables, the difference is probably caused by something else than what we think. Different shape of coil, different scatter, whatever. Not the different electrical properties of forbon and nylon.
      The only difference that I see, is the spacing of the plastic.
      Most of us don't wind right on the magnets anyway.