Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Mackie SWA1501 - PS/AMP Board Troubleshoot or Replace?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Mackie SWA1501 - PS/AMP Board Troubleshoot or Replace?

Hi Group - I'm a new member. I'm a BSEE but haven't used my skills for many years. These days I'm a sound engineer.

I've read through this forum and WOW - Tons of troubleshooting info on the SWA1501 -I'm wondering if it's worth my time to component level troubleshoot this thing. I've pulled it apart and the fuses and connections are good and there are no burned components or traces. Speaker reads 12ohms. PreAmp has power and reacts to signal (Signal LED bumps and Limit lights when I turn the input WAY up). The speaker does produce a tiny bit of sound, but it's barely audible.

Has anyone tried to get a replacement PS/AMP board from Mackie? I know this that a lot of the fun/challenge out of things, but since I have no replacement components, is it worth it to check all of the silicon?

Any advice is appreciated.

-Gregg

Hi, welcome.

We have a loooong thread on that model, various folks have entered and left that discussion. But really, how many posts on that compared to the many more on something like loose resistors in the Fender Hot Rod DeVille?

I am a Mackie repair center, so I fix the things. I once had one so badly burned I could not reliably repair if, so I replaced the powr amp board. Not cheap. BUt all the others, I repaired. Mackie won;t sell YOU a board, I don;t think (you could ask them), but you could probably order one through any MAckie dealer. Assuming they have stock.