Dukane PA head into Magnatone 401

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Dukane PA head into Magnatone 401

I thought I would share some pics of my latest project at my home for mistreated amps.
    I had, on my workshop shelves, several messed with amps I got cheaply because they didn't work. I am just learning this stuff, coming from a background that never included electronics.
    I had a Dukane PA head that I almost have working. I was getting help in another thread with this and am nearing completion. It was recently recapped (sort of) and the wiring for the volume and tone controls were completely missing. I have it working now, but it is very very weak so I will be pursuing that in 2012.
    It was in its original very unattractive cabinet.
    I also had a Magnatone 401 which buzzed very nastily. I had tried several ways to correct this with no success. Since it is a power transformerless model, I decided to cut my losses and combine the two.
    After doing some rudimentary work on the sheet metal of both chassis, I got them together fairly neatly and attempted to rewire the volume control. With a 6K11 as the preamp tube and two no longer used inputs, mic and phono, (wiring for these missing also), this is more complex than anything I am familiar with.
    I took the old 6" speaker out and enlarged the baffle hole to take an 8". Not earth shaking but I trust it will sound better. I also had to drill an enlarged hole for the pilot light.
    The old speaker, which was in great shape, is an Alnico Jensen 4 ohm job. I put it in a new Champion 600 and it sounds real good.
    I have here a pic of the old dukane cab. You can see where the EL84s have scorched the metal.
    Also there is a pic of the maggie with her new chassis and speaker. I have to wrap up the unused OT outputs yet.