Seeking some advice for repairing a Peavey Mark III bass head

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Seeking some advice for repairing a Peavey Mark III bass head

Hey there, this is my first post and I hope I poste in the right section. I have a 1978 peavey Mark III bass head that I'm trying to repair for my girlfriend's father. It blows a fuse as soon as you turn it on everytime. I don't have a schematic for this... Where could I find one? I checked the transformer for shorts and everything seemed to check out. I also checked the output transistors for shorts and found none. I don't have much info on the transistors though... Does anyone know what the values should be on them? And should they be unsoldered to be checked? I'm an electrical engineering student and know my basic theory very well but I'm a but weak on transistors. Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

You might want to check the power supply diodes for shorted condition.
    Also, if you feel inclined, use the Search function (upper right corner)
    Enter in "Peavey Mark III".
    There may be previous posts that have usefull advise.
    Attached Files

Comment

In general shorted output transistors are the first thing that usually cause this failure mode, followed by shorted power supply diodes, and then any number of other shorted components. You should probably look up the instructions for a light bulb current limiter and build one. It will save you from replacing the fuse while you are troubleshooting the amp. Also, don't connect the speaker to the amp until you have the problems staightened out.