Sweetening 5E3 overdrive

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Sweetening 5E3 overdrive

I work on guitar amps, but my background is as a keyboard player. I've got a client who bought a 5E3 kit built by someone else (a Weber kit, I think), and he asked me to de-bug it. He thought that there was a problem with the speaker, but that turns out not to be the case. The scope shows me that what he doesn't like about the amp is that it has a kind of unpleasant overdrive tone, which he perceived to be a speaker malfunction. Swapping different speakers makes no difference.

I've tamed it somewhat by adding a grid-stopper resistor to the input of the phase inverter, but it still has a kind of "ragged" sound when driven hard. And, because it's only 14 Watts, it's easy to drive hard. I've had to explain to the client that this amp is very different from his DRRI, despite it being a Fender circuit and having a 2 x 6V6 output section.

So, I'm wondering: what is the great appeal of the 5E3 design? I've heard other 2 x 6V6 amps from this era, like the Multivox Premier 120 that seem to sound better "out of the box," without a lot of tweaks and mods. Or is successful tweaking and modding part of the fun of building one of these? :-)

All that said, any further tips on how to make this amp sound a bit sweeter when overdriven? I've been through it carefully, and there's absolutely nothing "wrong" with it. It's just the circuit itself. Is this where the Paul Ruby zener mod might come in handy?
    Thanks in advance for any advice!

P.S. Coupling caps are all 0.022uF Sozos, and we have played with cathode bypass values without success.

How big did you do with the grid stopper? 1M is fine, won't cut treble (due to there being no voltage gain) and may help to smooth it out.
    My take is that because there's no mid scoop / not much treble boost, there's not enough treble from the instrument for power amp harmonics to 'mingle in' with, causing them to stand out rather.