Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Audio Generator or Function Generator for amp testing & troubleshooting?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Audio Generator or Function Generator for amp testing & troubleshooting?

I've recently been getting into building and fixing tube amps, though I have some background in electronics. I've read in many places that for guitar tube amp maintenance, when using an o-scope an audio generator is preferable than a function generator due to the lower distortion on the audio generator, but other people say that with tube amps it doesn't matter either way because their THD is so high anyway.

Is there a benefit in using an audio generator, say for example with 0.02% distortion over a function generator with 1% distortion? Part of the reason I ask is because there are some pretty cheap DDS function generators that would save me some money instead of buying a half-decent audio generator. But at the same time, if an audio generator would be better in the long run, then it's worth spending the extra money.

Thoughts?

Thanks for the feedback.

Mark

There are plenty of low cost audio signal generators available: audio signal generator | eBay

Or if you want to go real cheap, here's a freebie you can download to your Audio Frequency Generator FREEWARE

Or, download an app for your phone: App Store - AudioSigGen

Comment

If you have an iPhone or a Droid phone or whatever, there are signal/function generator aps for free. You just plug the headphone out into the amp input and set the frequency, waveform, and the level with the phone controls. If you want to spend $1.99 to $15 or so they have some more professional looking aps that do the same thing. The are also free and inexpensive usable aps for spectrum analyzers and decibel meters. They are very handy to have in your pocket. I'm waiting to see a phone that has a built in scope and multimeter.

Comment