Peavey Classic 50 HELP!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Peavey Classic 50 HELP!

I read and performed 2 blue guitar mods upon testing the second one which was replacing c18 with a 820pf silver mica cap, something must have touched the main board because the main fuse burned. I replaced the fuse and now I have no clean channel and the lead channel is very fuzz box sounding. Also the volume pot shafts are sensitive to the touch. I tried changing out the fist two 12ax7's and checked the boards for any obvious signs of burns or loose connections. I have some experience with amp building and such but I don't know where to start. I feel naked without my amp! HELP Please!

There are so many classic 50 models that you should contact peavey, 601 483 5365 and try to get the exact schematic, using the serial number, and post it here.
    I am making an educated guess that the low voltage plus minus supplies may be damaged. BUT that is just hot air until you get your schematic and take some readings.
    Circuit tracks may be broken or damaged, or there might be a bridged solder connection, (???)

Comment

Any links to the mods you did in the meantime? Did you reconnect all connectors back in the right place?

Comment

There are only two versions of the Classic 50. The original which had no effects loop, and the version a year later where they added an FX loop. That same Classic 50 has been made ever since, 20 years now. Other than that loop, they are the same.

There are other versions of the Classic, and they may even be 50 watt amps, but they are NOT Classic 50 amps.

I am with AMU here, look closely at the ribbon connectors. ANy chance one of them is off one pin?
        Education is what you're left with after you have forgotten what you have learned.

Comment

I don't believe you.
          I think there are way more than 2 versions.

Comment

Back up the statement.
            Schematics of 'all' of them.
            A phone call to Peavey.