Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Popping Sound JCM900 4102

Hi Folks.

I'm getting a pop sound from my amp. The V7 LED lit up, fuse blown. I looked inside the chassis and the 1.5K that goes from pin 4 to 5 of V7 smoked. (what is this resistor called BTW?) I replaced the resistor and still had the pop. I got a new tube, still popping. I replaced V4, still pop.

I had some volume fluctuations before the pop occurred.

I'm an engineer/tech but I'm very unaware of tube amp repair.

Any help? Thanks.

1k5 sounds like the grid-stopper...

Is this the correct schematic? http://www.techofsound.com/links/Mar...ll/jmp50c2.gif

Comment

Originally posted by MikeH View Post
      1k5 sounds like the grid-stopper...

Is this the correct schematic? http://www.techofsound.com/links/Mar...ll/jmp50c2.gif

Well the schematic is pretty darn close except there are violet wires instead of white going to r 31 and 32.
      The resistor that smoked comes from pin 5 ov V7 and goes to pin 5 of V6.

the board identifier is jmp50c

Comment

Pin 5 of an EL34 is the grid.
        You may want to mionitor the grid negative supply voltage after replacing the resistor.
        You want to see a steady dc voltage (-40 to -35 volts) with very little Volts ac ripple.
        The bias cap may be going bad.

Comment

Originally posted by Jazz P Bass View Post
          Pin 5 of an EL34 is the grid.
          You may want to mionitor the grid negative supply voltage after replacing the resistor.
          You want to see a steady dc voltage (-40 to -35 volts) with very little Volts ac ripple.
          The bias cap may be going bad.
          Yeah - AFAIK, those resistors generally don't see a lot of juice unless a coupling cap from the previous stage is dumping DC, the bias supply has gone rouge, or a tube has some sort of short and is putting plate voltage on the grid. Either way, it wont bias properly if that resistor is damaged.

Comment