dead output transformer

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• dead output transformer

I have an old selmer treble and bass reverb sv the other day when i was rehearsing the amp cut out and the mains fuse had blown. I found out at the end of the rehersal that the rehersal studio tech had re-wired the cabs to take 16ohms on all inputs and hadnt bothered telling anyone so basicly i was using my 8ohm output on a 16 ohm cab without knowing. Everytime i replace the fuse it blows i have tried removing all power valves but it still blows.

Im new to vintage electronics but im begining to think the output transformer has blown.
    I put a multimeter on the input and one on the output of the transformer and im getting a constant reading of 40.2kohms on both the 8ohm and 16 ohm output. Im just confirming i take it that means its blown? cause i would assume it should give different readings on the 16ohm and 8 ohm output.

Also where would i get a modern replacement?(i dont want to start messing about with secont hand parts)
    hope someone can help

The output transformer may well be ok; did you isolate the transformer connections before making your measurements? If not then the results probably don't mean much.
    Check out Tube Amplifier Debugging Page
    and
    http://music-electronics-forum.com/t26848/
    Are you fitting slo-blo / 'T' rated fuses?
    See http://www.webphix.com/schematic%20h...everbsv50w.pdf
    Is a suitable fuse fitted for the HT / B+ (eg not 10A)?
    Pete.
    Last edited by pdf64; 03-31-2012, 02:55 PM. Reason: add link for RG's 'dead tx?' thread.
    My band:- http://www.youtube.com/user/RedwingBand

Comment

What pdf64 said. Furthermore, running your output at 8 ohms setting with a 16 ohm cab is very, very unlikely to blow an output transformer that was not already about to die from something else. The cab/OT mismatch is almost certainly not your problem. Further:

Originally posted by serge1808 View Post