Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Help with homemade pickup winder electronics!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help with homemade pickup winder electronics!

Hi there how ya going peeps!

First out ill say im an amateur with electronics, i have rewired a few guitars and resoldered a few wires to repair a few things, but nothing to the extent of making my pickup winder out of an electric fan motor, i know a tiny bit about capacitors, potentiometers, currents, voltage and resistance but not enough to really brag about. basicly i have ripped open a bedroom fan and pulled all the electrical guts out of it leaving me with the motor, the speed selector switchs and some other weird attachment that was connected to the push/pull plastic shaft that makes the fan cycle left and right (didnt know if i should disconnect it or not, thought id leave it until i get some advice.) it still works all ripped out of the housing i play with it a little bit on my table but i expected it to work as i didnt disconnect anything except for some plastic, but i do believe it could work as a winder. im not to keen on paying $400 for a winder from stewmac.com

pretty much i know how im gonna bracket and house this motor, i just cant get my head around changing up the electronics a bit. for example i want to remove the stock selector switch the fan came with and replace it with like a light dimmer or something but in saying that will i have to add a on/off switch if i have a dimmer?
    also i am going to need to know how many times my pickups have been spun, and i was hoping to wire in an electronic counter to solve that issue but once again i just dont know how i should go about wiring it up.