DiMarzio's Double-Cream Trademark?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• DiMarzio's Double-Cream Trademark?

Guys, please bear with me. I am a long-time amp builder (I go back to the old alt.guitar.amps days); however, I have only recently gotten serious about winding pickups.

With the above said, I cannot believe that Gibson has not been able to mount a serious legal challenge to DiMarzio's double-cream trademark. DiMarzio trademarked prior art that was created by Gibson and made famous by Eric Clapton. After all, anyone who has been in this game for one than microsecond knows about the iconic photographs of Eric Clapton and his 1960 Les Paul with the double-cream neck humbucker that were taken during his stint with the Blues Breakers.

Here is the Dimarzio double-cream trademark registration on the United States Patent and Trademark Office's website:

Click image for larger version

Name:	Dimarzio Trademark.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	386.2 KB
ID:	865291
    Click image for larger version

Name:	Dimarzio Trademark2.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	173.7 KB
ID:	865292

If one examines the trademark registration, one discovers the following claims:

FIRST USE: 19740200.
    FIRST USE IN COMMERCE: 19740200

We all know that double-cream humbuckers existed before 1974; therefore, the claim that this trademark covers all double-cream humbuckers is weak at best. I am willing to bet that a legal challenge could be mounted that the trademark only covers Super Distortion-style double-cream pickups that employ two rows of grub screws. However, then again, I am not an intellectual property (IP) attorney.

Originally posted by Tonestack View Post
    Guys, please bear with me. I am a long-time amp builder (I go back to the old alt.guitar.amps days); however, I have only recently gotten serious about winding pickups.