No announcement yet.

Surface covering for work bench. HELP.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Surface covering for work bench. HELP.

Hi All!
    I have been doing electronic repairs for about 4 years now. Thing is, many times I end up scratching peoples stuff due to debris on my bench, leftover from previous repairs. Little pieces of solder or wire etc.
    What could I use as a surface covering. Carpet perhaps?
    Any ideas will be appreciated.

Carpet would get dirty, dusty and cause static issues. At Work we use conductive rubber matting connected to earth through a 1Mohm resistor.

Comment

Stewmac makes a pad to protect guitars on the work bench.
      http://www.stewmac.com/shop/Tools/Sp...ench_Rest.html
      IMO you need something which is NOT always there to pick up solder blobs and wire ends because that stuff can stick in a carpet and scratch later, so maybe a carpet scrap that comes out JUST for delicate stuff. Mcmaster carr sells rubber foam by the roll or purpose built bench mats
      http://www.mcmaster.com/#standard-wo...e-mats/=hgpo0z
      but new clean door mats can work too, or just remnant scraps which are cheap. What gets scratched?

Comment

Most shops I worked in carpeted the benches (and carts) with indoor/outdoor carpet and had a good powerful beater brush type hand vac handy to clean the work surface after each repair. Also had a static mat available for sensitive repairs. At home my bench is carpeted, but I throw down a folded bath towel if necesary. I also have various hard surfaces available for specific tasks like wood, plastic or steel and vices and jigs. Everyone has their idiosycracies, but nothing pisses off a customer like scratching a cabinet or faceplate!

Comment

I always carpet my benches and the shelves for storing repair units. A good brush and vacuum has always cleaned it sufficiently. For that matter a carpet sample from the store can be thrown in place. AGain, easily removed and shaken clean.