Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• An Introduction and Some Beginner Questions

Hi Folks,

I'm a guitarist but I've also got a fair bit of experience with (1) analog electronics building valve guitar amps and various guitar effects, (2) developing audio software using C/C++, and (3) some woodwork/instrument making, building a ukulele and a half-finished electric solidbody guitar.

I've never considered pickup winding but the process sounds interesting partly because I'm curious about most things to do with music technology, but also because I'm thinking of building myself a custom guitar which will most likely require some custom pickups. More specifically, I'm planning on building a seven-string guitar which uses hum-cancelling single-coil pickups (something like Dimarzio HS3s). I'm thinking of using only two pickups - one slanted for the bridge and one straight across the strings for the neck. I'm not sure whether I'll need a middle pickup.

Seven-string HS3s don't seem to exist so it looks like they'll have to be custom made (either by me or someone more experienced).

Can someone point me to any info on these hum-cancelling pickups? Are they actually single-coil pickups (sometimes they're referred to as "stacked humbuckers").

Are they more difficult to make than a standard single-coil pickup?

Is there any info available on how to wind these?

Cheers,

Chris

No, they are not single coil. A hum cancelling PU has two coils, out of phase to each other.
    There are NO single coil, hum cancelling pick ups.
    Buying ready made is always a good choice, but there are no 7 string PUs ready made.
    You may want to get in touch with a pickup shop, that has the tooling and know how.
    It takes a lot of effort to do it right, and it's a big learning process.
    Therefore an experienced winder is a very good choice.

I highly recommend you get in touch with KEN at Angeltone...
    http://www.angeltone.com/

Comment