Old Vintage Amp Servicing?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Old Vintage Amp Servicing?

Just some vintage questions on what gets done on old Amps.
    I have some questions on working on old amps.
    Do you always put 3 wire cords on amps with 2 wire cords and ground switches?
    What is the normal on this.
    Do you always replace all the Electrolytic Caps on old vintage amps.
    What is the norm on what is changed.
    Once you start replacing things on old Amps, where do you stop?
    I have been asked to check and look over some old amps for a vintage shop.
    I want to know primarily about what is the safety shock requirements.
    These vintage shops are so concerned about keeping everything Original, but safety is most important.
    I am a retired tech, just not on old amps.
    Thanks,
    Terry
    "If Hitler invaded Hell, I would make at least a favourable reference of the Devil in the House of Commons." Winston Churchill
    Terry

Caps are a pretty standard thing to change. They may work OK but it just good policy for a variety of reasons.

Power cords are a dicy subject for me. The liability is tremendous if you do it and it's wrong and someone gets electrocuted. I don't repair old amp with bad power cords. I repair stuff in my home and do not have a separate policy to cover that liability.

Comment

It all depends on what the amp is to be used for. If it is going to sit on a shelf in a "collection" then I just dust off the tolex. If it is going to be played, I put on a three prong cord and replace anything that isn't functioning properly. My amps all get used and I want them to be safe and quiet. I don't have any 50s tweed Fenders, but a lot of Gibsons.

Comment

Originally posted by big_teee View Post
        Just some vintage questions on what gets done on old Amps.
        I have some questions on working on old amps.
        Do you always put 3 wire cords on amps with 2 wire cords and ground switches?