Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Please Help!! Building My Own Gibson Thunderbird Bass Pickups

Hi All,

I'm new to ampage and have been a long-time member of TalkBass.com. I posted a thread there a couple of months ago that has some background info in it (http://www.talkbass.com/forum/showth...rbird+building).

I will soon be embarking on a project bass and I would like to craft my own pickups for it. Here's the config, a Peavey Fury neck (jazz-like) on a walnut P-bass body with a Music Man style pickup (or a regular P-pickup...haven't decided yet) in the traditional P neck position and a Thunderbird humbucker near the bridge (roughly in the Fender 70s Jazz bridge position).

Here's my dilemma...I've found plenty of info on Music Man pickups, however, I've searched all over for info on the 60s T-Bird pickups and have come up with very little except general knowledge of Gibson bass pickups and this picture:

Someone else in the TalkBass thread above also showed a Gibson T-Bird humbucker that looked like this (which is a completely different coil configuration all together):

Does anyone have any light to shed on this topic? Does anyone actually know what the guts of a 60s T-Bird bass humbucker look like and possible measurements? Thanks!

Here's a little more of the background info I found (from TB member 69'Vette):

Thunderbird pickup info from Bill Lawrence:

1. The original Thunderbird pickup is a conventional upright-coil humbucker with two alnico bar magnets as "polepieces". They are contained in bobbins, with the coil wire wound around the bobbin (not directly around the magnets like Fender). He said that the design was like a dual coil humbucking version of a Melody Maker pickup. Neither he nor Seth Lover designed it, but it was based on a pickup he designed in 1948.