Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• newbie needs help

hey all, i've come for help...

i'm an experienced player... but a complete newbie with guitar / pic up wiring...

heres the problem/ situation... I've put (on a guitar i'm building) 3 single coil pickups with a 5 way switch. standard strat stlye.

Each pick up - one wire to the selector switch - and the other wire to the volume pot. (earth?)

The volume pot is connected to the selector switch and both tones and volume are linked.

The jack plug lead also connects to the volume pot. Somehow everything works - but - huge buzzing! Until i put my finger on the metal part where the jack plug connects (on the outside)

So i have an earth problem? also not sure what to do with the other earth wire that runs up from back of guitar?

Well you're prob thinking it sounds a mess... well it is sort of - but i must be missing something obvious?

Please help!

i've seen diagrams where each pickup is individually earthed - but to where?

Compare your wiring to this diagram and make sure you have everything grounded like the diagram.
    http://support.fender.com/service_di...1000C_SISD.pdf
    Good Luck,
    T
    "If Hitler invaded Hell, I would make at least a favourable reference of the Devil in the House of Commons." Winston Churchill
    Terry

Comment

Originally posted by big_teee View Post
      Compare your wiring to this diagram and make sure you have everything grounded like the diagram.
      http://support.fender.com/service_di...1000C_SISD.pdf
      And take special note of the "black wire to spring claw".
      DON'T FEED THE TROLLS!

Comment

Originally posted by rjb View Post
        And take special note of the "black wire to spring claw".

Spring claw?

Comment