Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Advice needed on first cab build. Smaa single speaker type.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Advice needed on first cab build. Smaa single speaker type.

tonequester here. I'm new to this part of the forum. A little backgroung info on what i'm trying to do. I'm working on a way to "re-amp" a Blackstar HT-1R, 1 Watt, studio/practice amp, through a solid state (kit built) power amp with an out put of 20-30 Watts. I'll be using the 4-16 ohm speaker output jack on the back of the "tube amp". I have an Eminence, 150 W., 32 Ohm speaker. If buy another of these, and hook them in parallel I will have 16 Ohms, which would work with the Blackstar, but I'm going to re-amp with a s.s. power amp. Do I need to make sure the power amp is designed to work with EXACTLY 16 Ohms. Also, what would be considered a "good" size for the cabinet, with two 15",150 Watt speakers. Open back or closed ? Any Opinions welcome, thanks.......tonequester.