A de-soldering stations such as the DSX 80 Weller safe to use

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• A de-soldering stations such as the DSX 80 Weller safe to use

I am still a novice at electronic repair and often find that I struggle with desoldering tasks. The braid(s) that I have used lately does not seem to work as efficiently as some I have had in the past. I have an an old T Series (mint green) Weller soldering station and normally use a tip rated at 700 degrees. Is this tip too cool or slow to work effectively with braid?

I have been admonished that the automatic desoldering stations tend to be "too" hot and send some A/C into the PC boards. I am fairly "heat sink" concious but would like to know how others feel regarding the usefulness of a dedicated desoldering station. I have also never tried the manual vaccum sucker because my mentor preaches "use the braid" "use the braid". Thoughts?

if the braid is oxidized, it either won't work or won't work well

Comment

I've been pretty happy with my Hakko 808 desoldering gun:

Amazon.com: Hakko Desoldering Kit, With 808 Gun, 120 VAC: Home Improvement

At less than $200 it's great bang for the buck.

All desoldering stations seem to be a bit on the high-maintenance side, requiring frequent cleaning and such, but are a great tool in the arsenal. Hand vacuum "solder suckers" have their place too, but beware of recoil smashing the tip into the work & bending things or ruining traces on a PCB. Sometimes braid is the best solution so I always have some of that too. I like choices...

In the end I suppose it's all about the particular needs of the situation.

Comment