Peavey Triple X- intermittent Crunch and Ultra problem

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Peavey Triple X- intermittent Crunch and Ultra problem

Hey Guys I'm new to the forum and I hope maybe someone can help me troubleshoot this problem

My Peavey Triple X sounds muffled and distorted only on the Crunch and Ultra channels. There's a serious lack of volume and "disconnected dirty contact type sound" I have talked to the guys at Peavey and we have ruled out the effects loop, dirty contacts on input jacks and tube sockets. I talked to Gene at Peavey two days ago and he suggested it may be the k3 relay, but I'm not totally sure how to test that relay. I almost forgot to mention that the problem went away on its own twice but only briefly.

I have some basic electronics experience but I'm no expert, I would really appreciate any advice you guys could give me.

Thanks- Cody

Originally posted by Cody View Post
    Hey Guys I'm new to the forum and I hope maybe someone can help me troubleshoot this problem

My Peavey Triple X sounds muffled and distorted only on the Crunch and Ultra channels. There's a serious lack of volume and "disconnected dirty contact type sound" I have talked to the guys at Peavey and we have ruled out the effects loop, dirty contacts on input jacks and tube sockets. I talked to Gene at Peavey two days ago and he suggested it may be the k3 relay, but I'm not totally sure how to test that relay. I almost forgot to mention that the problem went away on its own twice but only briefly.

I have some basic electronics experience but I'm no expert, I would really appreciate any advice you guys could give me.

Thanks- Cody
    The thing to do is to put a socket on the board so you can pull the relay and swap it with a good one.
    (Enzo hates sockets)
    The thing about relay intermittent is that you really never know if it's the relay contacts or bad solder connections, so you kinda attack both at once.