Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Size of the magnets for pickups

Guys!
    I'm new in this extrange force called pickup winding and need to know what size are the magnets I have to buy.

I been thinking in rods of alnico with 5mm of section and 20mm long

And bars of ceramic and/or alnico with 60 x 12 x 5mm (width x height x thickness) for humbuckers

Am I Right?

those seem right. for humbuchers it can be a bit leanient and you coud use odd sizes and get it to work aswell, but using the right stuff is a good idea.

Comment

Hello.
      If yer' new? I would start slower.. got to:
      buy some parts kits at Mc Donalds .. www.stewmac.com

hope this helped?
      DonM
      Let's all Close shop and Go Fishing!, the heck with everything today!

Comment

Thanks guys.
        Those sizes are more or less the standards no?

In response to Don, I don't like StewMac stuff. Pretty much everything. It's ok when you're starting but there are other resources wich are cheaper, or have better quality, or are more specific on some subjects (don't handling 5 million things from diverse nature in their catalog), etc

I mean. They re good but I prefer other resources.

And having already bought a 2.6 kg spool of AWG42 and having all the other materials around, the magnets are the only thing I need to start. I doubt they sell me only some magnets when the minimum order is 30 and I have to pay the shipping to Argentina. :lol:

Comment

Originally posted by tiococo View Post
          Thanks guys.

In response to Don, I don't like StewMac stuff. Pretty much everything. It's ok when you're starting but there are other resources wich are cheaper, or have better quality, or are more specific on some subjects (don't handling 5 million things from diverse nature in their catalog), etc