Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Old Radio Cabinet.........

I had been admiring this radio cab, for close to three years:

When I was looking through the pictures, I realized that I hadn't taken one of the front panel. Will try to do so, soon.

The radio cabinet was in an antique mall, about an hour and a half from home. Get there about once a year. And, it was always there. The radio chassis was built in several sections, and had been cannibalized quite a bit. Probably half of it was gone, as there were empty places on the platform that had something mounted to it previously. So, I made them a very low offer, and they took it. As this was man-day (wife had other more important things to do), I asked Don (music leader at our Church) to go with me. We loaded it on the truck, and while we were wrapping it up and tying it down, the store clerk told me that an elderly couple had a couple boxes of tubes that they had just tried to sell, but couldn't. I walked over to their car and looked them over. They had about 150, by their count. And, a rather thick book of old radio schematics. So, we bargained and I carried those away, also. I believe that I got more tubes than they figured.

Anyway, to preserve the look of the front panel, I plan to only have a volume pot (with power switch), a bass pot, and a treble pot. I've been playing around with octals for awhile, mainly because that's what I have the most of. As I only have a few of the 12A_7 series tubes, I decided to dig through the 'non-standard' tubes that I have, to see what I can substitute in place of them.