Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• BV120H Two power tubes not working but check out ok

Hi,
    I'll save you the typing and say right off that I know this amp is a piece of trash. I've had problems with it 1-2x a year for the past three years. I completely re-capped it and put silicone washers on the board mounts, etc... It has been working fine for quite a while, until last week.

Anyway, I need help and my problem is this:

Two of the power tubes aren't heating up. I switched tubes around so it's not the tubes. I checked continuity on the fuses and they all check out good. I traced all connections around every pin to their sources and made sure the resistor values were all good. As far as I can tell it should be working fine... but it isn't. I'm no troubleshooting expert. Can anyone tell me where to start diagnosing?

~Justin

If a tube doesn;t light in a socket, but does elsewhere, then the tube heater is OK, and hte socket is not able to put heater current through the tube filament.

Just a hunch, are you measuring heater voltages to ground? And your resistance tests, dod you take them with the tubes still in their sockets?

Heater windings on power transformers have VERY low resistances. A bunch of tubes wired in parallel in their sockets ALSO have a VERY low resistance. I see a 6A fuse F6 for the heaters. Power off, leave the tubes all in, and measure resistance across that fuse. I bet you get continuity and the fuse is OK, right? Now remove the fuse and measure resistance across the empty fuse clip. You might expect an open reading, but I bet you get a low resistance. With the fuse in the clip, your meter sees the fuse as continuity. WIth no fuse your meter is reading the resistance through teh 6v transformer winding, through the tube heaters and back to the other end of the fuse clip. A false parallel path. That is why we always remove fuses from the holders to check them.