Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Fender twin reverb (ab763) PI trouble

Hi all!
    After lurking around for a while I finally decided to register myself. I've been learning my way around tube amps for a little while now. I'm not very experienced yet but I really enjoy the marvelous world of tube amps. I started with building some simple guitareffects and started to proceed towards tube amps (don't worry, I've learned about the high voltages and I know how to properly drain the caps and how to operate a DVM). It seems now however that I'm a little bit lost with my last project.

I bought a '73 Twin Reverb which had a non-original circuit board installed. I ordered a AB763 build and bought all the parts. I've finished the build and hooked everything up. I do have some sound from both channels but it's very distorted and has a very low output (I checked the polarity of the speaker). I' m running the amp on 2 JJ6l6's with an 80hm speaker load.
    I' ve measured all the pins on the tube. I noted them down here:
    Valve Data Recording Program

Altough almost all tubes show some deviation of the layout it seems to me that the biggest problem is with the Phase Inverter (v6). P1 measures 406v, P6 393. The wire going from the caps to the 100k and 82k resistors measures approximately 440v. I checked the solder joints and the resistors and every things checks out fine.

Does anyone have an idea what could be the culprit?
    Thanks

Clearly the phase inverter is not right. It is not conducting much. Because you built it and bought all the parts, my first thought is a wrong part. Believe me, we have all done that. It is so easy to put a 470k rsistor in place of a 470 ohm resistor. And as one person found out, it is also easy to transpose a couple parts on the eyelet board and have it still "look" OK.