3 indents in patent number pickups

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 3 indents in patent number pickups

Does anyone havea clue as to why the 3 indents are seen on some t tops? i have a pair like this and they look melted with the indents and i have no clue if its manufacturing. any ideas?

they are simply sprues where the plastic was injected into the mold, the ones that sink are simply from cooling of the part....
    http://www.SDpickups.com
    Stephens Design Pickups

Comment

It was never intended for you to see the bobbins since the pickups had covers, so they didn't really care what they looked like.
      It would be possible to describe everything scientifically, but it would make no sense; it would be without meaning, as if you described a Beethoven symphony as a variation of wave pressure. — Albert Einstein

http://coneyislandguitars.com
      www.soundcloud.com/davidravenmoon

Comment

you know, I never even thought of that! thats why im a novice. i have a pair that has holes in the same place but totaly sucked in

Comment

The plastic shrinks 1-2% as it cools so if the injector pressure was a little low the mold will pull in a little air before the mold ejects the part resulting in little sink holes or bubbles in the thickest area of the part.

Comment