Ampeg M-12 project

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Ampeg M-12 project

I'm looking for an opinion since I'm still new to the game here.

I just picked this M-12 up and obviously its not original.
    The cabinet has been recovered once and the speaker grill material looks newer.
    The Jensen C12R is also obviously not original.

The previous owner stated it was working fine and then one day let the smoke out.
    The 1K 10W resistor is cracked and was probably where the "smoke" came from. However a lot of the paper capacitors dont look so hot and a couple look like they have split.

The previous owner also stated that Jess Oliver was the last one to work on this amp but I dont see it. There are several bad solder joints and some just plain scary things going on.
    You cant see it in the photos but the hot wire attached to the fuse is basically just jammed in there with one strand of wire actually being soldered.

Basically I like to go with original components and a factory look when possible but I think this one is a lost cause.
    I'm leaning towards a full rebuild. All new carbon comp resistors and all new caps everywhere.
    What do you guys think? Any point in trying to keep some of those paper caps? Among-st other things.

I have a 1960 Ampeg Rocket in worse shape than that one. I've been trying to talk myself into rebuilding it as a 18 watt Marshall clone with 6v6 outputs. Won't be worth much either way.

Comment

I pulled the trigger on the parts for a complete rebuild.
      I'm gonna keep this one I think.

Otherwise if I sell it whoever buys it will get a reliable amp that should last another 30 years.

Comment

Well the magic smoke came from the 1k 5watt resistor. The can cap had a leg short to ground internally.

So after replacing those items and cleaning up a couple of bad solder joints it works!
        But it has a bad amount of hum.

I added a center tap to the heater supply for poops and ha ha's no change with the hum.