What to charge for???

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What to charge for???

Hey all. I have been repairing amps for about 7 years now. I have actually only had one I couldnt fix, was a little Ibanez tone blaster. Cheap thing. Anyway, I just fixed a guys Carvin Stagemaster. Toom me a while but it desperately needed a recap, one of the high voltage spade lugs is soldered directly above a tube socket. There was a solder bridge thet caused the 480 Volts to arc to the 6.3 heaters. Not good. I had to rebuild traces as it vaporized them. I had to rebuild the effects loop wires etc.... Basically, a tough job. What would be a reasonable price to charge this guy. I dont wanna club him in the head too hard as I am about to build amps to his head cabs and speaker enclosures. Gruber cabs btw. What do you think? I dont wanna be a d-bag but I have a family to feed

Originally posted by Danglin' Fury View Post
    Hey all. I have been repairing amps for about 7 years now. I have actually only had one I couldnt fix, was a little Ibanez tone blaster. Cheap thing. Anyway, I just fixed a guys Carvin Stagemaster. Toom me a while but it desperately needed a recap, one of the high voltage spade lugs is soldered directly above a tube socket. There was a solder bridge thet caused the 480 Volts to arc to the 6.3 heaters. Not good. I had to rebuild traces as it vaporized them. I had to rebuild the effects loop wires etc.... Basically, a tough job. What would be a reasonable price to charge this guy. I dont wanna club him in the head too hard as I am about to build amps to his head cabs and speaker enclosures. Gruber cabs btw. What do you think? I dont wanna be a d-bag but I have a family to feed
    Don't you think you should have a diagnostic fee and then let customer decide if it's worth putting effort in something that may not warrant it?