Amp techs....lend me your ears.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Amp techs....lend me your ears.

I'm new to amplifier builds and repair. Been doing slight repair on a few amps. Just repaired my Peavey Windsor. Now I'm working on a Crate Vintage club 20 that was blowing a fuse. Anyway, the point of this thread is to ask you pros for tips and any information you can give me to help me troubleshoot, not just this amp, but in general. Would appreciate any help you can give.

Thanks in advance,

Well, pretty much all I do around here is preach troubleshooting method. That and make corny comments. Don't look at repair threads as lists of specific parts to check, look at them as a source of systematic approaches. What things do we suggest on just about any amp. Why do we suggest them. What do we get from the answers. Read all the threads you have time to. SOme threads get right to the answer. SOme threads are very long. SOme are long because the person needing help just needs so much background explained along the way that it moves slowly. But some are long because the circuit is complex and at a couple posts a day it can take a long time to get there.