Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• first wind - a few questions

Hi

Just bought a couple of humbucker kits with a view to making a couple of low-output, vintage PAF pickups. This is my first time winding so any tips will be very welcome.

The guitar is a 335 which I use for blues/rock/funk kind of sounds - clean tones to crunch. I plan to be playing it through one of these DIY tweed champs.

In general, I'm looking for something "musical", responsive and expressive - I guess that means low output, scatterwound and unpotted? For this guitar, I think I need something on the bright side of the spectrum with slightly scooped mids.

The kits have a range of magnet options - I chose Alnico III and Alnico IV. Do you recommend that I should magnetise these myself to make sure they're fully charged? I've got no way to check the gauss - but maybe there's no real need to.

It looks like I should be aiming for about 3-4k DC resistance per coil. How many turns is that, roughly? I've got no idea when I need to stop winding...!

I'm planning to order some of this 42 guage Polyester 180 Dual Coat wire. Is that good quality wire? It's about the only option I've found in the UK (links to UK sources for pickup parts most welcome ).

Asymmetric coils seems to be recommended to add some brightness; I think I'm going to want that. Suppose I go for a 3:2 ratio: Is that too much? A hot side would help with coil tapping (which I definitely want to try).

Scatter winding... will just have to play that by ear I guess. Suppose I alternate between a couple of dozen turns one layer and a dozen on the next, and finish off the last few layers winding nice and even. Does that sound sane?

Thanks for your help I'm kind of hoping if I do my research, and wind carefully, I'll get some good results at my third or fourth attempt.

Welcome to the Winding Community!
    A good place to start is the Resources Thread.
    http://music-electronics-forum.com/t30228/