Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Another Yamaha EM 150 question...

Hello All! Newbie here!

I just got a Yamaha EM 150 (for really really cheap!) and for the most part it all works, and great at that I might add, but the one exception is the R main speaker out side is not working but when I plug a cable into it, it gives out a "power hum" and not a "ground hum" if that makes any sense. I'm no tech guy but I did swap the "circuit boards" that are in the "heatsink" type enclosures and the non-working side worked, so I'm thinking that I've isolated the problem to something on the one circuit board, but my problem is, what do I do next? I've tried finding a Yamaha EM 150 Service Manual but have not found anything other than Owner's Manual's. Any tips, advice, step by step instructions, will be and forever greatly appreciated!!!

Also, would this one circuit board cause the whole side (R or L) to malfunction as in the Aux, Rec, Monitor, Echo, etc.? When I plugged (stereo) into the Aux for testing the board, only one side of it worked also, so I was just wondering if all the "R" side stuff is within the individual circuit board or not.

Thanks!
    Steve
    Attached Files

First, do not connect a speaker to the loud hum channel until we KNOW it is not producing DC voltage. Measure for DC across the speaker jack, or plug a cord into the jack and measure at the free end for voltage between tip and sleeve. Not worried about a fraction of a volt, we do not want to see a substantial voltage. It will destroy speakers.

DC on an output means a blown amp channel. Could be shorted transistors, coul dbe open resistors, could be a number of things.