Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Filter capacitor values

Hi,

I'm hoping for some clarification on the subject of filter caps. I opened up a Silvertone 1484 head that I bought 2 years ago and saw that while it had been recapped fairly recently, with nice looking F&T caps, the values of the new filter caps are way off from the originals. The schematic shows four 100uf 150v caps, and what I have is four 47uf 500v caps. I am just learning about tube amps and definitely not clear on how important cap values are in this stage. I assume that the tech who put them in knew what they were doing, but I would appreciate it if someone could explain why such a difference in values is okay.

Thanks in advance.

F

If the 100uF at 150v caps were wired in series, they would become the equivalent of a 50uF at 300v cap.

Post the correct schematic for your amp and we can see how they were wired.

Comment

Thanks for the reply. Here is a schematic.

Click image for larger version

Name:	Silvertone1484SchematicClean.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	85.9 KB
ID:	828177

Comment

Okay, those 100uF at 150 volt cans are part of a voltage doubler circuit. In fact the amp has two stacked doublers to get the 480 vdc for the power amp. The 47uF value might be a bit low for that usage.

How well does the amp work? Any hum?

Comment