Thread: two half wave rectifier tubes to make a full wave rectifier?

Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 0/0
    Given: 0/0

two half wave rectifier tubes to make a full wave rectifier?

I recently came into possession of a bunch of tube radios. Most of its junk but I got enough out of it to build myself a little weirdo champ copy (hoping to also build a sort of push-pull deluxe once i manage the champ), but the rectifier tubes I have (35w4) are half wave rectifiers. Would it be possible to wire them up such that they act as a full wave rectifier? Was basically going to build up this circuit, http://www.diyguitarist.com/Schemati...-Schematic.jpg but that guys lacks a power transformer. I've got a salvaged one I think I can use, but from what i understand PTs usually like to be symmetrically loaded (please pardon me if i'm talking out of my ass, this is my first attempt at such a ground up project). thanks for any help with this project!

0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

Thumbs Up/Down
    i should mention that I believe my PT is center tapped.

Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 4/0
    You could do it with two dual VT rectifiers, but one VT rectifier and a pair of silicon diodes will probably suffice - this way saves power (one less filament to deal with) and you still retain the slow turn-on, sagging characteristic of the VT rectifier.

Jaz

Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 246/0
    Given: 125/1
    The RCA tube manual rates the 35W4 peak inverse voltage (PIV) at 330V max. The heater to cathode voltage rating is plus or minus 330V. That limits output voltage to 165VDC. The octal version 35Z5 is rated at 700 PIV.

WARNING! Musical Instrument amplifiers contain lethal voltages and can retain them even when unplugged. Refer service to qualified personnel.
    REMEMBER: Everybody knows that smokin' ain't allowed in school !

Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 1,938/24
    Given: 4,890/11