Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Handwired rebuild of Princeton Reverb Reissue - Rectifier?

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    54
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 0/0
    Given: 0/0
    Rep Power
    7

    Handwired rebuild of Princeton Reverb Reissue - Rectifier?

    Hi All,

    I just picked up a used Princeton Reverb Reissue from a friend for a great deal, and I'm looking to gut it and put in a handwired circuit. Was looking to get a kit on it, but the deal for the reissue was too hard to pass up. Thing is, all the schematics of Blackface Princeton Reverbs I've found have a 5U4 rectifier, but the reissue comes with a 5AR4 rectifier, and I'm planning on keeping the stock power transformer in there. Will there be a problem using a 5U4 rectifier with its current draw with the stock PT in the new handwired circuit?

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  2. #2
    Senior Hollow State Tech Bruce / Mission Amps's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Denver, Colorado
    Posts
    3,045
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 7/0
    Given: 0/0
    Rep Power
    17
    What is the part number on the actual PT?
    Magnetic Component's parent company could be the actual winder and they'd have all the data.... however, I would be cautious too. It most likely is a 5v@+2A winding.
    But why not just use a 5AR4/GZ34 if the PT was made for it?

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Bruce

    Mission Amps
    Denver, CO. 80022
    www.missionamps.com
    303-955-2412

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    891
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 21/0
    Given: 0/0
    Rep Power
    10
    If I can interject, what are the concerns with swapping rectifier tubes in general?

    Heater current
    B+ output

    what else

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    ~Semi-No0b Hobbyist~

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    54
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 0/0
    Given: 0/0
    Rep Power
    7
    Quote Originally Posted by Bruce / Mission Amps View Post
    What is the part number on the actual PT?
    Magnetic Component's parent company could be the actual winder and they'd have all the data.... however, I would be cautious too. It most likely is a 5v@+2A winding.
    But why not just use a 5AR4/GZ34 if the PT was made for it?
    Thanks for replying, Bruce. I've actually been trying to look up the part # of the stock PT for the reissue and look up its specs. But along the way, I did read a review where it was mentioned that Fender recommends against a 5U4 because of the current draw, which tells me that it's only 2A at the PT for a GZ34. I'd just like to be able to run a 5U4 and more 'crunchy' 6V6s for earlier breakup and less headroom, as well as JJ's and a GZ34 for more headroom and a little louder playing/gigging.

    For now, I do have a Weber copper cap 5U4, but I also have an NOS GE 5U4 I was hoping to put in there. Maybe down the road I'll get the PT from Mojo which has 5V 4A...even though their kit ships with a GZ34 (weird). Other places have replacement PT's that say they are for Princetons, but they're 5V 2A as well.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Last edited by RC99; 03-26-2013 at 04:21 AM.

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    54
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 0/0
    Given: 0/0
    Rep Power
    7
    Quote Originally Posted by mort View Post
    If I can interject, what are the concerns with swapping rectifier tubes in general?

    Heater current
    B+ output

    what else
    For me it's more about the rectifier heater current, as I'd like to switch to a 5U4 for more sag and lower headroom at times and run more 'traditional' type 6V6s other than JJ's.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  6. #6
    Senior Hollow State Tech Bruce / Mission Amps's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Denver, Colorado
    Posts
    3,045
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 7/0
    Given: 0/0
    Rep Power
    17
    The reason the 5U4GB was used has nothing to do with sag... especially with respect to little 15 watt amp and a modern PT wound specifically for a 5AR4.
    You could try a GZ30 (not GZ34) or 5V4GA too.
    If you want sag, put a 5 watt resistor in series with the B+ line from the rectifier to the first filter cap... mess with a a few hundred ohms until you get what you are looking for.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Bruce

    Mission Amps
    Denver, CO. 80022
    www.missionamps.com
    303-955-2412

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    54
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 0/0
    Given: 0/0
    Rep Power
    7
    Thanks again, Bruce. I got the reissue in...holy crap is that stock Jensen C10R bright! Plugged it into a Weber ceramic Blue Dog and Jensen Neo 12 I had in other amps and it's night & day warmer and not nearly as grating. Man, I wonder how many sales they've lost from people trying this out and passing because of that icepick speaker. Anyway, I put the Weber WU4 into that and biased a set of NOS 6V6GTY's to around 20 and it's quite nice. Still has some of that reissue 'hardness' that I remember being like with Deluxe Reverb reissues vs. handwired versions and the real thing. Looking forward to handwiring for this one.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Reissue '65 Super Reverb Conversion to Handwired
    By mikeboone in forum Conversion Projects
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 02-15-2013, 05:40 PM
  2. Fender Princeton Reverb Reissue w/ hum problem at idle = bad rectifier
    By spiral in forum Maintenance, Troubleshooting & Repair
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-26-2012, 06:29 AM
  3. trouble shooting a Princeton Reverb Reissue
    By mike_mccue in forum Maintenance, Troubleshooting & Repair
    Replies: 28
    Last Post: 01-24-2012, 03:49 AM
  4. Princeton Reverb rebuild
    By tonalvision in forum Maintenance, Troubleshooting & Repair
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 03-31-2011, 01:37 AM
  5. My 65 Reissue Princeton has no power.
    By mhand in forum Maintenance, Troubleshooting & Repair
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-18-2009, 11:42 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •